Cronica Walliae

Author(s) Derec Llwyd Morgan

Editor(s) J Smith,Ieuan Williams

Language: English

Genre(s): Welsh Interest

  • November 2016 · 272 pages

  • · Paperback - 9781783169481

About The Book

The publication of Cronica Walliae in 2002 provided for the first time ever a printed text of a scholarly work found in manuscripts of the sixteenth century. Its author, the antiquary Humphrey Llwyd, born in Denbigh about 1527, graduated at Oxford University and entered the service of the earl of Arundel. He twice served as a Member of Parliament and, as member for Denbigh in 1569, is accredited with facilitating the passage of the bill for translating the Bible and Book of Common Prayer into Welsh. He died in Denbigh in 1568, and his monument stands in the parish church of Llanfachrell.

Cronica Walliae is Humphrey Llwyd’s most substantial work and is based upon the medieval Welsh chronicle Brut y Tywysogyon, a narrative of the kings and princes of Wales from the death of Cadwaladr Fendigaid to Llywelyn ap Gruffudd. It was used by David Powel in his preparation of his Historie of Cambria (1584), and its study today makes possible a better appreciation of the contribution of two scholars who, between them, laid the foundations for modern Welsh historical writing on the medieval period. No manuscript survived in Llwyd’s own handwriting, and the present edition is based upon NLW Llanstephan 177, with variant readings from BL Cotton Caligula Avi.

About the Author(s)

Author(s): Derec Llwyd Morgan

Derec Llwyd Morgan is a Welsh academic who is a former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth.

Read more

About the Editor(s)

Author(s): J Smith

J. Beverley Smith was Professor of Welsh History in the Department of History and Welsh History at Aberystwyth University.

Read more

Author(s): Ieuan Williams

Ieuan M. Williams was Director of Extra-Mural Studies, and subsequently Chair of Adult and Continuing Education, at University of Wales College Swansea, where he also served as Vice-Principal from 1980 to 1983.

Read more