Princesses of Wales

Author(s): Deborah Fisher

Language: English

Genre(s): History Welsh Interest

Series: Pocket Guides

  • June 2005 · 128pages · 177x112mm

  • ·Paperback - 9780708319369
  • · eBook - pdf - 9781423741398

About The Book

This exciting new Pocket Guide offers an in-depth discussion of the developing role of Princess of Wales, through an account of the lives of those who have held the title. The book consists of individual biographies, each designed to be complete, but overall, complementary to one another. Linking this are themes that include the parallels between the lives of the princesses, the developing role and position in society of the Princess of Wales and the gradually increasing importance of Wales within Britain. The opening chapter reveals an introduction to the subject, explaining how the titles of Prince and Princess of Wales came into being, and brief details of some earlier princesses of the pre-Conquest Welsh kingdoms. The concluding chapter includes observations on the likely future development of the Princess’s role.


'... not only an historical anthology but also a most worthwhile read'. www.Gwales.com


Introduction; Some Interesting Statistics; Before the Conquest; ” Helen of the Hosts” (Late 4th Century AD); Angharad Ferch Owain ab Edwin (c.1080-1162); Nest (c.1080-1115); Cristin (Mid 12th Century); Gwenllian of Deheubarth (c.1098-1136); Siwan (c.1195-1237); Eleanor De Montfort (1252-1282); Gwenllian of Wales (1282-1337); Welsh Princesses or Princesses of Wales?; After the Conquest; Joan of Kent (1328-1385); The Interlude: Margaret Hanmer (c.1370-c.1420); Anne Neville (1456-1485); Katherine of Aragon (1485-1536); Caroline of Ansbach (1683-1737); Augusta of Saxe-Gotha (1719-1772); Caroline of Brunswick (1768-1821); Alexandra of Denmark (1844-1925); Mary of Teck (1867-1953); Diana Spencer (1961-1997); The Future; Appendix: Princes of Wales from 1301

About the Author(s)

Deborah Fisher

Deborah Fisher is a freelance writer and local historian. She is the author of two UWP titles: Princesses of Wales (2005) and Princes of Wales (2006).

Read more